7 Pyrenean Moments from ‘Veil’: moment 5

moment 5

I went to close the shutters that folded into the outer recesses of our large windows around the perimeter of our room. As I quickly opened the windows outwards and reached each side to encourage the folded shutters out of their corners, cold wind bit me chasing out the build-up of wood heat. The hot and cold air combined on the wide stone of the sill, and candles were exchanged for stars in the sky.

The dark beauty Tilda always accompanied me on these missions. She could not resist jumping up to poke her nose outside, then scampering in again and thudding to the floor as I drew the shutters towards each other and latched them together. And as I stepped back from shuttering the largest window, I saw that she was peering down at something in the corner, gingerly putting out her paw to touch it.

I whispered, “It’s a scorpion. Must have come from under the skirting into the warmth.”

You were visibly shocked and told me to exterminate it as quickly as I could.

“The colour?”

“Black.”

I was aware of trying to keep my voice calm.

You swiftly removed the cats from the site, clutching them both together, their long furred legs and bodies hanging down, eyes wide as saucers, as I went to get a catching-glass. The bronze of your outdoor skin had blanched with fear.

Once caught, I released a small black scorpion in the ruin next door. 

“How can you stay so calm? Always so calm!”

The cats were curious about their lost opportunity, but you were annoyed, walking to the fridge to fill your glass again. You over-reacted to this potential murderer, as if your own life depended on it. It seemed as if the scorpion would seek you out deliberately and shoot its sting in your face.

1

Moments 1-4 are in previous daily posts if you would like to know the whole story!

1
1

Veil is available in ebook form at:

http://www.amazon.com/author/lindenthorp_inthefield +

Author page: http://lulu.com/spotlight/Veil_linden415

images courtesy of Mariko Kinoshita and megapixyl.com

Fusine Lake, Italian Alps – https://www.megapixl.com/rifberlin-stock-images-videos-portfolio, Grunge French windows – https://www.megapixl.com/lvnel-stock-images-videos-portfolio, Tension – https://www.megapixl.com/eyewave-stock-images-videos-portfolio

Leave a Reply

